Why I Don't Take the Standard Approach With Chakras

Why I Don't Take the Standard Approach With Chakras

I started out using chakras for so many things, because it's how I was taught.  The thing is I was always that annoying kid in class who asked why and started digging myself a rabbit hole.  Yikes!  For chakras, I was unpleasantly surprised at what I found...

 If you have ever gone to a spiritual retreat, taken a course, shopped in a New Age store, or had a healing, then you've probably come across the chakras.  However, have you asked why the healer is using them?  Sadly, I've found that most of them I've asked can't even answer basic questions surrounding them and their properties.  For a while I was becoming a bit skeptical of why we use them and if the information we know about them is accurate. This caused me to do some digging and research.  I came out the other end being happy with my findings, but might not work with the chakras like everyone else.  I personally don't like Western New Age making a buffet out of ancient teachings.  I find things are overly simplified, and use a lot of spirtual bypassing. That doesn't mean we don't deserve our own opinions or theories, but I'm just not a New Age gal. 

So let's get started with the basics:

 There are 114+ chakras in the body, but we usually use the main 7 in modern healing.

Muladhara – Root Chakra, Red

Svadhisthana – Sacral Chakra, Orange

Manipura – Solar Plexus Chakra, Yellow

Anahata – Heart Chakra, Green or Pink

Vishuddha – Throat Chakra, Blue

Ajña Chakra – 3rd Eye, Purple or Indigo

Sahasrara – Crown Chakra, White or Without Color

You won't find color associated in any ancient Buddhist or Janeist texts or the Vedas from India.  However, you can cross over the five elements associated with the chakras with the related colors via the Tantras.  However, this still leaves out two of the main chakras, being the Ajña Chakra (Third Eye) and the Sahasrara Chakra (Crown). 

Muladhara – Root Chakra, Yellow (Earth)

Svadhisthana – Sacral Chakra, Light Blue / Silver / Grey (Water)

Manipura – Solar Plexus Chakra, Red (Fire)

Anahata – Heart Chakra, Green (Air)

Vishuddha – Throat Chakra, Indigo or Without Color (Ether)

Ajña Chakra – 3rd Eye (Not included in the elemental aspect)

Sahasrara – Crown Chakra (Not included in the elemental aspect) 

So why the change, and where did these other color assignments come from? 

The modern colors assigned to chakras comes from Christopher Hill's book, “Nuclear Evolution: Discovery of the Rainbow Body”.  Everyone holds different beliefs, but I personally don't understand why we've so quickly adapted to this one book, rather than using the ancient associations or our own discernment while performing a healing session. 

In the ancient texts, as briefly mentioned above, the elements were associated with colors and then certain chakras were associated with a certain element, but even then I believe the association via the chakras were subject to change depending on what you were trying to achieve. 

Question everything and then make up your own mind. 

I'm not an expert on the ancient methods of using the chakras, but I know it's quite a bit different than the way we use them today, and even at that they are not necessary to access our energy.  They are just another way to access it!  So if you are into the New Age, then by all means use the 7 chakras and the colors associated with them. Please understand exactly why you are using them, the roots, and if it aligns with your values.  We are infinite energetic beings and our energy can be accessed and aligned in so many ways, but usually the best way is the simplest. 

If you are a healer or go to a healer, I suggest reading as much as possible and digging around for information.  Ask your healer why they use chakras and what they mean to them. 

If you want to learn more about the Chakras, I recommend looking into Christopher Hareesh Wallis on his website.  He teaches a very in depth course on the chakras via Embodied Philosophy.  It will explain more in depth everything I have talked about here and you can make up your own mind on what does or doesn't work for you.



Retour au blog